Sensitive Areas

Environmentally sensitive areas, also known as critical areas, are designated as the following pursuant to Washington State (RCW 36.70A.060 and WAC 197-11-908) and the Auburn City Code (ACC 16.10.010):

  1. Flood hazards;
  2. Geological hazards;
  3. Ground water protection areas;
  4. Significant trees;
  5. Streams;
  6. Wetlands; and
  7. Wildlife habitat

Proposed development and other activities in or near environmental Critical Areas are subject to the City's Critical Area review requirements found in Chapter 16.10 of the Auburn City Code to prevent adverse impacts to these areas and to protect public health, safety, and welfare.

Informational Materials


For information about environmentally sensitive areas in Auburn or the City's Critical Areas review process, please contact the Environmental Services Team via email or at 253-288-4318.