Junior City Council

What is the purpose of the Junior City Council?

The Auburn City Council created the Junior City Council in order to get advice and ideas from students on things like parks, recreation, entertainment, traffic, police, festivals, trails, environmental stewardship and other social issues. Students will learn leadership skills, improve their chances for scholarships, learn how City government operates and see how they can influence government activities in order to make a positive difference in the community.

Who can be on the Junior City Council?

The members of the Council must be from middle schools and high schools within the city limits.
One (1) member can be from other schools located outside of the City as long they are an Auburn resident. The current Junior City Council members are (left to right):

  • Junior City CouncilPhoebe Galito
  • Eunice Ugaddan
  • Jon Kosaka
  • Sydney Campbell, Chair
  • Brandon Berend
  • Tanner Johnson
  • Mary Riel
  • Matthew St. George
  • Tyler Cushing
  • Diego Izquierdo, Vice Chair
  • Cheyanne Gaines
  • Ethan Thomas

Not Pictured: Karla Cardenas and Justen Hardaway

How much time will it take a student?

It is estimated that students will need to spend about 2 hours per week during the school year attending meetings, participating in City functions and studying for meetings.

What is the application process?

Download an application (PDF) or pick one up at City Hall at the City Clerk's office or at your school principal's office. Students need to get at least one letter of recommendation from a school teacher, administrator or counselor.

For more information, call 253-931-3041 or email Antoinette Manthey.